Table of Contents
- 1 Does Facebook delete all your data when you delete your account?
- 2 Can you really delete a Facebook account?
- 3 Can you ask Facebook to delete your data?
- 4 Does permanently deleting Facebook delete messenger?
- 5 How do I Delete my Facebook Messenger account and information?
- 6 How long does Facebook keep backup copies of deleted accounts?
Does Facebook delete all your data when you delete your account?
Data harvested by apps Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg on Thursday pledged a “full forensic audit” to ensure all data had been deleted. He also said he would limit the data available to developers. However, many consumers may be unaware they need to take this additional step after deleting their Facebook accounts.
Can you really delete a Facebook account?
To delete your Facebook account forever: Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings. Click Your Facebook Information in the left column. Click Deactivation and Deletion. Choose Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
How do I delete Facebook data?
Manually Delete Information
- Log into your Facebook account.
- Go to your profile.
- Click on the triple dots on the right side.
- From the drop-down menu, select “Activity Log.”
- Find the posts you want to delete.
- Click the triple dots on the posts’ right side.
- Select “Move to Recycle Bin.”
Can you ask Facebook to delete your data?
Sadly, there’s no way to keep an account and delete all the data. To delete all your Facebook Data, you’ll need to permanently delete your account.
Does permanently deleting Facebook delete messenger?
Deactivating your Facebook account does NOT deactivate Facebook Messenger. If you delete Facebook you’re permanently removing your data. However, you might not realize that deactivating your Facebook account does not deactivate Facebook Messenger. People will still be able to see you and can attempt to contact you.
What happens to your information when you delete your Facebook account?
Facebook says that some information, “like messages you sent to friends,” could still be visible to other users even after your account is deleted. Anything your friends have posted about you will also remain on Facebook, since that’s their data and not yours.
How do I Delete my Facebook Messenger account and information?
Click the Your Facebook Information link under Security and Login and navigate to the Delete Your Account and Information link. Once there, you’ll have the option to Deactivate Account, which will allow you to either keep Messenger access, Download Your Information, or Delete Account.
How long does Facebook keep backup copies of deleted accounts?
Facebook says it keeps “backup copies for a reasonable period of time” after a deletion, and it says that can be as long as three months. It also says it may retain copies of “some material” from deleted accounts, but removes personal identifiers.
What is Facebook doing with your data?
The data includes your Facebook personal messages, photos, status updates and which advertisers have your contact info, among other data points. Zuckerberg said Facebook will add a tool at the top of users’ news feed that shows them which apps have access to their data, and how to revoke those permissions.